WotG: Exp made fun!?

7 Dec

Thank the Gods for Campaign!

Exping is fun sometimes, but more often then not as a Red Mage it isn’t. Refresh, Haste and Cure for hours on end? [No Thanks.] I’m very occasionally ‘in the mood’ to party, but since i hit 75 i cant bring myself to do it, i wanna play ffxi for fun.

I’ve managed to keep from de-leveling by doing Besieged whenever i can. I die all the time so this generally keeps me 7k into level 75. Since i die so much and Besieged seems to never be on i havn’t got into the whole merit scene, but thats just changed! ^_^

Campaign is the best thing in the game! (maybe). My first impression was its like Besieged with no lag, but it does have its differences; its often shorter, mobs are generally easier to kill, less people, a choice of where to fight, and u can coordiante with other people because theres less people and less lag. SE also said that one persons actions could really help over all, and i think its true. I did a Pashhow Campaign with just 3 other people, but we kicked ass and got some points off the fought. I loved that only the four of us who had just met could work together to make a difference to the war as a whole. When they said SE looked at besieged and improved it they were not kidding!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Not only is it fun, but it gives good exp and since the last update a theres always at least one Campaign Battle on in Ye Olde Vanadiel. Its great that i can actually have fun while making exp! I can pick up on Campaign whenever i want and play it solo, so the other players can stuff there refresh! ITS ALL MINE NOW! BWAHAHAHAHAHAH

Battles are varied in a number of ways, you could be defending or attacking, they can be long or short, they can be easy or tough and so on. Now that u can attack the enemy strongholds directly the whole system works a bit more too. During one particularly long Gustaberg Campaign i got 3.3k exp! (I’d heard there was a cap on the exp u get, being around 2.5kish, so whenever there was a long break in-between the beastmen waves i got assessed and rejoined. I did this three times and it worked out at 1.9k+600+800=3.3k :) That little nugget of gold is my gift since u can be assed to read my blog :P lol)

Over the past two days Ive made 15k-ish exp from it, so Ive finally got my first ever merit point! I waited with my finger on the screen shot button but for some reason i never got the ‘Merit Point!’ animation ): i was looking forward to that so much… ):

but anway :D yay! I was gonna spend it on either Phalanx II, Slow II or Paralyze II~ but i later found out i need three points for those lol, oh well.  I’d never looked at merits until now, a lot seem pretty worthless >_>; poor drks

My long term merit plan is to get the spells mentioned above, merit spell interruption rate -% and Enfeebling Magic skill. I’m still kinda sketchy on the ins and outs but those seem the most useful, l’ll look into it more.

So over all im a happy camper, its great to have an alternative to parties for exp ^_^ TYVM SE! PLEASE DONT NERF THIS!!!

Misc:Prommy static is getting underway, we completed Prommy-Mea for livi today. I dont mind doing them again as i forget the CSs so its like i’m seeing it for the first time :D

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Red Mage Rules: Sick of stressful parties? stuff them, do some campaign :D

Playtime: 103 Days, 15 Hours, 8 Minutes, 3 Seconds 

9 Responses to “WotG: Exp made fun!?”

  1. Ophenix December 7, 2007 at 11:06 am #

    you seem to be having fun ^.^

  2. millionsknives December 7, 2007 at 1:06 pm #

    be more fun if u could come ; ; we’d lvl ur rdm and blu in no time :D

  3. Ophenix December 8, 2007 at 4:07 pm #

    Nya… Once I’m dont with my Essey’s and my hope project ^.^ Sure…
    However that won’t be any time soon >.>;

  4. Serielley December 9, 2007 at 4:52 pm #

    I wholeheartedly agree with you about Campaign! <3 Campaign. I was able to get most of my first merit point from it as well, and you’re right! It’s just way too much fun!

    Congrats on your first merit!

  5. millionsknives December 14, 2007 at 1:48 am #

    ^^ idk what id do w/o campaign. Mellee may like meripo but for mages like us its hell -.-

    so yay campaign ^^!

    gratz on your first merit too :D what you gonna spend it on?!

  6. Serielley December 17, 2007 at 5:31 pm #

    I was able to get two more not long after the first, and unlocked Shellra V. Tasty. :D

    Next up is Cure cast time and Devotion!

    yay Campaign indeed!

  7. Kenjetsu AKA Kyle December 18, 2007 at 8:48 pm #

    hmmm lol what leval can ye do this at w/o dieing?

    I wanna play XD

  8. millionsknives December 19, 2007 at 1:25 pm #

    i can do it as a 59 drk. i dont get as much exp as on rdm but its still good enough to do while lfp ^^

  9. millionsknives July 9, 2008 at 10:43 pm #

    Looking back, this was soooo nice before they altered campaign. Now npcs cram the zone up and it lags just like besieged… -_-

Leave a Reply

